Django annoyances.

January 30, 2007

I’ve spent the better part of two days wrestling with a django install onto a mac mini.  Now, don’t get me wrong, I firmly believe that a significant part of the blame lies with the mac, but I have to say that the django site could do a much better job of saying things like:  “This wonderful linked-to-from-the-front-page tutorial book that we’re working on is in fact based on the absolutely latest bleeding-edge version of django and if you try to follow it using our also-linked-to-on-the-front-page stable-build of django it will probably cause you to hemorrhage out of your eyesockets in frustration.”

I’m just sayin.

Otherwise, I kinda like it.  I’m looking forward to making real stuff happen with it real soon!

One Response to “Django annoyances.”

  1. Ben Says:

    At BarCamp I noticed that Simon Willison uses VMWare to run Ubuntu on top of OS X, and then installs whatever server-type tools he needs on top of that via the wonders of apt. If yours is an Intel Mac mini then this is probably a far better solution (maybe even for PowerPC, if you used Debian instead? I’m not sure what Ubuntu’s support for PowerPC is like).


Leave a Reply

